Skip to main content


On Friday, 11 January 2013 the then Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, Her Excellency Quentin Bryce, appointed six Commissioners for the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse. To assist the Commissioners, Ms Gail Furness SC was appointed as Senior Counsel Assisting.

The Hon. Justice Peter McClellan AM, Chair of the Royal Commission and Judge of Appeal in New South Wales

The Hon. Justice Jennifer Coate, Judge of the Family Court of Australia

Commissioner Bob Atkinson AO APM, Former Queensland Police Service Commissioner

Commissioner Robert Fitzgerald AM, Productivity Commissioner

Commissioner Helen Milroy, Consultant Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist

Commissioner Andrew Murray, Former Senator for Western Australia

Ms Gail Furness SC, Senior Counsel Assisting the Royal Commission

Counsel Assisting appointed by the Commonwealth Attorney-General who appeared at a Royal Commission hearing:

  • Angus Stewart SC
  • Jeremy Kirk SC
  • Sophie David SC
  • Andrew Naylor
  • Caroline Spruce
  • David Barrow
  • David Lloyd
  • Hayley Bennett
  • Juliet Lucy
  • Madeleine Ellicott
  • Maria Gerace
  • Naomi Sharp
  • Peggy Dwyer
  • Simeon Beckett
  • Stephen Free